In Alabama the crime of
assault is considered to have occurred when a person
acts with intent to cause injury to another person
and actually causes serious physical injury to that
person, or with intent to disfigure another person
actually causes serious physical injury.
Alabama has varying classes and degrees of assault depending on the severity of the action. There are three (3) degrees of assault for which you can be charged:
- Assault in the first degree - Class B Felony: A class B felony is one in which the sentence can be no less than two (2) years and no more than twenty (20) years. A fine may also be imposed for a class B felony, but it may not exceed $10,000.00
- Assault in the second degree - Class C Felony: A class C felony is one in which the sentence is no less than two (2) years and no more than twenty (20) years. A fine may also be imposed for a class C felony, but it may not exceed $5,000.00.
- Assault in the third degree - Class A Misdemeanor: A class A misdemeanor is one in which the sentence can be no more than one (1) year (which is generally served in the county jail in which you were arrested), and fine that may not exceed $6,000.00.
Defense to Assault Charges: Pleading an effective defense in an assault case may result in a reduction of the charge to a lesser offense, or in some cases you may be exculpated of the charge entirely.
Effects of an Assault Conviction: An assault conviction in Alabama may have several negative repercussions depending on the degree of the conviction. If you are convicted of 1st or 2nd degree assault you are considered a felon. A felon may have restrictions on their right to vote, right to carry firearms, and a variety of others restrictions depending on the felony class.
If you are faced with an assault charge remember
that choosing an experienced and dedicated attorney
to protect your rights is one of the most important
decisions you can make. The Beard Law Group is
prepared to fight for your rights and protect your
interest when faced with these types of serious